Skip to content ↓

House System

There are four Houses - Barts, Bede, Rolleston and York. The House names represent the community of Maltby, past and present. This enables students to work collaboratively to support each other. Each House is led by a House Manager who is a pastoral member of staff and works with students to support them.

The House Managers are:

BARTS - Mr Bonnett
BEDE - Mrs Prescott

ROLLESTON - Mr Tweddle
YORK - Mrs Cook

There are also an Assistant House Manager:

Mr Burgan

Within each House there are eleven vertical tutor groups. Each tutor group meets every day and gathers for assembly once a week. The vertical tutor group contains Year 7 through to Year 11 students. Students stay with the same tutor for five years which allows students, staff and parents/carers to develop a good working relationship to maintain the partnership between the Acdemy and home. Tutors are the first port of call in the event of communication from home. Form representatives are elected for each tutor group.

The tutor programme contains assemblies, academic progress reviews, attendance and reward postcard tracking, all using the student planner, as well as the competitive incentive league, between tutor groups in each House, and between Houses.


Monday - Sixth Form
Tuesday - Bede
Wednesday - Rolleston
Thursday - Barts
Friday - York

At different times the programme also includes - Personal Learning and Thinking Skills (PLT) activities, quizzes, literacy and numeracy activities and Spiritual, Moral, Social and Cultural (SMSC) learning. This is evident through all activities and is evidenced through student leadership roles, student council work and student pledges, which are also collated through the student planner. Personal, Social, Health and Economic Education (PSHE) is supported through the tutorial programme along with themes incorporated into the Information and Guidance (IAG) lessons for all years.